Augmented Reality Gone Wrong!


Many are still trying to figure out the best way to use augmented reality technology and there have been several really good examples but this isn’t one of them. The challenge to use augmented reality for promotionaly marketing is still falling short but think that I have figured it out and will launch my augmented reality over the next 4-5 weeks. However, I thought this would be a good example of what not to do. This augmented reality piece was given to me by a coworker who picked it up a local store. It is from Hallmark, where you could see a surprise message when you picked up the card and or associated insert with the tag. A few things that I had issue with when I went to view.

First, when you went to the website allmark.com/extra you were prompted to download an application in order to view the augmented reality surprise. This was an immediate turn off as most people want instant gratification and don’t want to wait for downloading and installing an application first. I can only assume that someone at Hallmark insisted that there be a way to measure the views or downloads of people who did this to determine if it was a cost effective marketing effort.

Second, I am not sure who the target audience was for this augmented reality promotion. I don’t know too many 7 year olds that this would appeal too who purchase Hallmark cards and not too sure many adults know what augmented reality even is.

Usability is a big deal with any website technology and especially augmented reality. The next step is to tie in branding of a product or campaign with the augmented reality video and then use that to promote a specific event. In addition to just the augmented reality concept, it is very easy to create a quick webcam video like I have done to help tag the augmented reality project with SEO keywords for easy search and I hate to say it but catch on virally.

Stay tuned to more of my ideas and my own augmented reality concept.

Leave a Reply

